Getting to know Fakfak City, an Old Town Full of History in West Papua

Fakfak Regency is one of nine definitive regencies in West Papua. It’s based on Law Number 12 of 1969 concerning the establishment of the Autonomous Province of West Papua.  

This regency is known as the old city because its existence has been mentioned during the Majapahit Kingdom in the classic book Negara Kertagama in 1365 AD. Also, this regency is referred to as a historical city because it has relics from World War II.

Fakfak is also a government city because it has been the center of government and education since the Dutch East Indies era. It was once used as the first government city and the seat of Afdeeling West en Zuid Nieuw Guinea during the Dutch administration. 

Fakfak Regency is known as the city of nutmeg because, since the Srivijaya era, it has had superior plants in the form of export quality nutmeg. Let’s dig deeper into the history of this West Papua old city.

Fakfak City
Sumber : Fak-Fak

Dutch Colonial Period

The period of Dutch rule lasted from 1896 to 1962. On September 28, 1898, the Dutch government established a local government post, “hafold van plaatselijke pestuur” located in Fakfak City, West Papua. 

The development of the post of government was so rapid and had bright prospects, so in 1901, the Dutch government became a residency status with the city of Fakfak as the capital. In view of the smooth running of tasks that must be carried out by a resident who is faced with the vast area with unsupported facilities, the afdeling division is divided into several onder afdeling (under the department).

In this regard, Fakfak afdeeling is divided into three onder afdeling:

  • Fakfak onder afdeling with the capital city of Fakfak in charge of Fakfak, Kokas, and Babo Districts
  • Kaimana onder afdeling with Kaimana capital in charge of Kaimana District, Arguni Bay, and Etna Bay
  • Mimika onder afdeling with the capital city of Kokonao, which oversees the Mimika West and Mimika East Districts.

The Reign of the Republic of Indonesia

After the handover of the government from UNTEA to the government of the Republic of Indonesia on May 1, 1963, the government’s tasks were fully carried out by the government of the Republic of Indonesia. Since then, the government has first addressed urgent tasks.

First, to conduct an orderly administration of the residency to comply with the governance system in the homeland of Indonesia. Second, to instill a sense of solidarity as a servant of the state and public servant so that it is in accordance with governance in the Indonesian homeland.

Third, instill a sense of solidarity and work spirit in every employee as a servant of the state and public servant to be loyal to the government of the Republic of Indonesia. Fourth, instill a sense of love for the homeland, the spirit of unity and oneness to Indonesian children from Irian Jaya.

With the determination of the people’s opinion, de facto and de jure, the Province of Irian Jaya has become an integral part of the Unitary State of the Republic of Indonesia. Since then, the district government of Dati II Fakfak West Papua has begun to direct its activities to implement Phase I of the 5-year development.

In the first year of Pelita I, precisely on September 21, 1969, the people of the administrative district of Fakfak received a working visit from the President of the Republic of Indonesia, which was a special joy for the residents of this region. 

Then with the enactment of Law no. 12 of 1969, Fakfak District Level II was divided into three regions and eight districts with the capital city of Fakfak. The three regions, namely Fakfak, Kaimana, and Mimika, are led by a local government head.