Getting to know the New Province in Papua

new province in Papua

On November 11, 2022, the Minister of Home Affairs of Indonesia, Tito Karnavian, inaugurated the establishment of the new province in Papua. In total, three new provinces are the result of the division of Papua Province.

After the three new provinces in Papua exist, the total number of provinces in Papua is five. The first is Papua Province, with the capital city of Jayapura, West Papua Province, with Manokwari as its capital.

Next is the South Papua Province with its capital Merauke, Central Papua with Nabire as its capital, and Papua Pegunungan with the capital city of Jayawijaya.

These new provinces can become Papua destinations and manifestations of Papua Indonesia culture. If you are curious, see the explanation below.

1. South Papua Province

The traditional name of the South Papua Province is Anim Ha, with Merauke as the capital city. The regencies included in this province are Merauke, Mappi, Amat, and Boven Digoel Regencies.

The Marind Anim is a large community group that inhabits South Papua. This tribe continues to preserve the lifestyle of farming, hunting, and gathering. The staple food of this tribe is sago.

Sago for this tribe is important because it is widely used in rituals such as marriage, deliberation, and customary justice.

In addition to the Marind Anim, there is also the Asmat Tribe in South Papua Province, which is divided into two: living in the interior and on the coast. If Marind Anim makes sago their main commodity, Asmat has a unique wood carving.

2. Central Papua Province

The traditional name of Central Papua Province is Mee Pogo, and its capital is in Nabire Regency.

The regencies in this province include Nabire, Mimika, Paniai, Dogiyai, Deiyai, Intan Jaya, Puncak, and Puncak Jaya regencies.

The majority ethnic group in this province is the Mee tribe. Meanwhile, other tribes who also inhabit this province are Dani, Damal, Moni, Nduga, and Mee. The main livelihoods of these tribes include raising livestock and farming. But they also do other fields such as trade and fisheries.

The main commodities in Mee Pago are quite diverse. Dogiyai and Paniai districts are famous for their sweet potato and coffee production. Nabire district has a citrus, rice, and pig farms.

Intan Jaya Regency is famous for its agarwood commodity. Lastly, Mimika Regency is a coal and copper mining development area.

3. Papua Pegunungan Province

The traditional name of the Papua Mountains Province is La Pago, with Jayawijaya Regency as its capital.

Some of the regencies in this province include the Kabupaten Jayawijaya, Lanny Jaya, Mamberami Tengah, Nduga, Tolikara, Yahukio, Yalimo, and Kabupaten Pegunungan Bintang. Currently, about 23 tribes occupy the Papua Mountains Province.

These tribes include Dani, Dem, Ngalik, Ndugwa, Nimbora, Ngalim, Pesekhem, Una, Pyu, and Uria. Then there are Himanggona, Karfasia, Korapan, Timorini, Kupel, Wanam, Momuna, Biki, Sela Sarmi, Murop, Nduga, Nayak, and Yali.

One of the biggest tribes is the Nayak, who has a livelihood as taro and sweet potato farmer. Their staple food is vegetables, sweet potatoes, and pork.

Then the Nduga people rely on plantations and hunting to meet their daily needs. For hunting activities, the Nduga community has a special area.

Meanwhile, the main commodities in the Papua Mountains Province are all plants suitable for living in the highlands. This is related to the province’s location, which is in a mountainous area.

The superior commodities in the Papua Pegunungan or La Pago Province include sweet potatoes, coffee, onions, fruits, rubber, garahu, oranges, pineapples, and various vegetables.


With the presence of this new province in Papua, each region can develop because it already has its government. This ultimately makes people’s lives better.